New here? Sign Up Have an account?

Warm Aloha from Honolulu!

Male (57) looking for Male Honolulu, Hawaii, United States

My name is Rodney and I'm 57 years old. I prefer men in my age group, late 40s to mid 60s, give or take. Also into ethnic men, although other Caucasian guys are always welcome. No discrimination here. It's what's inside and behind the eyes that counts.

Don't have a television. Instead streamline Netflix, PBS and other things. Especially enjoy British and foreign programming. Like to see things from other cultures that we haven't seen thrown at us a million times already with the same predictability. Also enjoy reading, board games and cultural events/outings with friends. And of course, walking around my beautiful city in the Pacific.

Although I currently don't own pets, was always more of a cat person, as opposed to dogs, if that means anything. Pets are like people, you have to get to know them as individuals before you could possibly make any judgements. My last partner had a dog that I adored.

I'm not a well traveled person but I have been to Washington, D.C., Portland, OR (twice), Chicago and Japan, the one trip to another land and it was amazing. I grew up in the St. Louis area of Missouri. Moved from there to San Francisco and lived there from '79 to '82 with my first partner. Worked at "The Advocate" when it was located in San Mateo, south of San Francisco, before it moved to the LA area after I left. Moved to Hawaii in '82 and have been here most of my life now. Spoiled by the beauty, climate, cultural diversity, food and amazing people. Really consider this my home now.

I'm 5'10" and currently weigh 175 lbs. Could definitely loose at least 20 . . . I know, like most of us—working on it! I'm HIV negative and don't smoke, drink or do drugs. To be honest, the photo is three years old. But I haven't changed much since then.

I'm a graphic artist by trade and an associate art director for a publishing company that specializes in Hawaii visitor publications.

I'm interested in just getting a dialogue going with men that I might have things in common with and can go from there. Men in Hawaii would be preferable, but all are welcome.

I wish you all well and mahalo for reading my profile. And a good 2014 to everyone!

Sign Up 100% FREE to Get In Touch

Signup Free Here

Appearance

EthnicityCaucasian / White
National heritageNorwegian
BuildAverage
Height5' 10" (178 cm)
Eye ColorBlue
Hair ColorBrown
Hair LengthShort
Facial HairNone
Best featureEyes
Health ConditionNo special Health Conditions
My AttractivenessAverage

Situation

Relationship StatusSingle
Has childrenNo children
Wants kidsNo
Housing SituationAll is calm
Living ArrangementsAlone
Wants to RelocateMaybe
Has a carNo

Education & Employment

EducationHigh school Diploma - GED or equivalent
SpecialtyComputers / Electronic
Employment StatusFull-time
Annual income$25,000 - $50,000
Job TitleGraphic Artist/Associate Art Director

Leisure & Fun

Favorite TV showsI don't have a TV. This site really needs to update their categories. I streamline everything. Faves are Downton Abby, Poirot, Spiral, The Protectors, Wallander, Catching Killers (Smithsonian program), Inspector Lewis, Sherlock, Last Tango in Halifax
Favorite movies typesRomance, Drama, Documentary, Thriller
Favorite moviesMy Beautiful Laundrette, Cut Sleeve Boys, The Wedding Banquet, Like It Is, Love Songs (Les Chansons d'amour) . . . just a few faves.
Music typesJazz, New age, Ambient
Favorite artistsCategories above are limiting. Am now mostly into chill world music from other cultures. Favorite artist hands down: Grace Jones
Reading selectionAuto-biography, Biography, Fiction, Mystery, Satire
Favorite booksAll Agatha Christie novels that I read in middle school. They are the only thing that got me through adolescence.
Idea of funGee...how can one answer this? Anything spontaneous, adventurous, intriguing and provokes fresh conversation and ideas.
HobbiesArts & Crafts, Reading, Movies, Photography, Theater

Personality

SmokerDon't smoke
DrinkingDon't drink
Social behaviorFunny
Friends describe asFriendly
In High School I was a(n)Average Joe
Sense of humorClever
My great timeHanging out with friends, Going shopping, Staying at home, Trying new things, The movies, Relaxing, Reading a book, Going to a concert, Going to a museum
Always wanted to tryHot air ballooning. When I've visited Portland it was off season. But would love to venture it. I did static-line sky diving as a teenager, but never made it to free fall.

Views

Political viewsLiberal
ReligionAtheist
Attend religious servicesNever
Goal in lifeLiving

Looking For

Must haveIntelligence, Humor, Empathy, Sensitivity, Spontaneity, Wit, Thoughtfullness
Look for in a partnerJust let me know what you can bring to the table. I bring integrity and honesty and that's what I expect in return, as well as mutual respect. And also a reassuring and comforting hug.
On the first dateA nice walk around my hood to a quiet restaurant for a good ethnic meal and conversation. That's a start . . . it's up to us to plan from there. A walk on the beach, movie, whatever. First dates should never be "planned." When two people come together anything can happen. It's up to the men involved and what they are comfortable with and would like to enjoy together.