New here? Sign Up Have an account?

learning what it's like to be free....

recently allowed myself the freedom not to believe, to cast off the yoke of religious dogmas I've lived with all my life....in doing so, I've been a happier person. I'm a single mom, divorced, and scared to death of dating again, but it's time to take a chance. I'd a friend once online from Scotland that often told me I should join a dating service, but I always felt it was well...desperate. I'm not, I'm good being alone, but would enjoy feeling I had a life outside my home for a change. I'm a mother first, student second, and passionate about my work. I'm a work in progress and determined to never grow old. so that's me.

a wee disclaimer here as I see a few "christians" perusing my profile. You're free to look, but I'm not interested....seriously! toodles...

Sign Up 100% FREE to Get In Touch

Signup Free Here

Appearance

EthnicityCaucasian / White
National heritageAmerican
BuildA few extra pounds
Height163 cm
Eye ColorBlue
Hair ColorBrown
Hair LengthVery long
Body ArtStrategically placed tattoo
Health ConditionDeaf / hard of hearing

Situation

Relationship StatusDivorced
Has childrenTwo
Wants kidsNo
Living ArrangementsWith kid(s)
Wants to RelocateNo
Have PetsDog
Has a carYes

Education & Employment

EducationUniversity Masters
SpecialtyOther
Employment StatusFull-time

Leisure & Fun

Favorite movies typesComedy, Romance, Drama, Documentary, Family, Adult
Music typesRock, Metal, New age, Folk
Favorite artistsPantera, Rammstein, Slipknot, Tool, Nine Inch Nails, Incubus, Metallica, A Perfect Circle, Godsmack, Disturbed, Radiohead, Alice in Chains, Janis Joplin, The Doors, The Kills, Dead Weather, Jack White, too many to list, my tastes vary based on my mood. I
Reading selectionComic, Fiction, History, Music, Philosophy, Poetry
Favorite booksJust finished reading, good without God, now reading The God Delusion. I've a long reading list, though also includes journal articles and textbook reading for my graduate classes.
Idea of funHanging out with friends, good music, preferably live and loud. sometimes enjoy family oriented gatherings, other times adult oriented with drinking involved. Enjoy the lake, outdoors and cooking out occasionally. Other times, like to just sit and listen to music, watch a film, or read a book. I've a loud side and a quiet side, both has it's merits.
HobbiesReading, Learning, Music, Internet, Family, Theater

Personality

SmokerSmoke socially
DrinkingRegular drinker
Social behaviorFriendly
Friends describe asFriendly
In High School I was a(n)Average Joe
My great timeHanging out with friends, Staying at home, Trying new things, The movies, Relaxing, Drinking, Going to a concert, Going to a museum
Always wanted to tryWhile I'm not in any shape for it....yet, I'd like to learn kick-boxing. I also want more tattoos and have ideas for all the many I'd like to get once I've the time and money to do so. Might even consider piercings someday, navel at least.

Views

Political viewsLiberal
ReligionAgnostic
Attend religious servicesNever
Goal in lifelife long learner....went back to college in my 40's, graduated with my bachelor's albeit online last summer. back in college now for my graduate work and already considering a 2nd masters and perhaps even a doctorate degree. (will be paying college loans till death perhaps LOL) i've a passion for working with children and families dealing with disabilities as my son has autism. (he's diagnosed with autism, but he's a boy like any other first, i don't dwell on the autism factor, we all have our differentness) ultimately, my goal is to become the best person I can be, creating positive change in me versus simply treading the waters in life. my life has limitations based on the responsibilities I have as a parent, but that shouldn't define what I achieve as a woman.

Looking For

Must haveIntelligence, Humor, Sensitivity, Flirtatiousness, Thoughtfulness
Look for in a partnerSomeone fun, with an uplifting spirit. Looks for positives in life even when thrown lemons....but yet also firmly attached to reality. I'm a bit of a hippie, free-spirit, and sometimes that requires like-mindedness but also stability in thinking to keep me grounded. Oh, and before I forget, must be able to tolerate a woman that speaks her mind, curses on occasion and won't apologize for it. I'm not perfect, but I won't tolerate a man trying to change me or set expectations of me. Now laugh....as it's much better than the alternative! =)~
On the first dateHonestly, dating scares that @$*& out of me, but it's time to take a chance again. First dates should be something light, like grabbing a coffee or such. Open to emails and messages at first. Nothing elaborate and with no expectations.